Investment Board Candidate - Professor Steven Abel

Candidates for election to the AICoin Investment Board
PrincessBitcoin

Investment Board Candidate - Professor Steven Abel

Post by PrincessBitcoin » Sat Jan 13, 2018 2:00 pm

My professional experience is in Academia. I am a Professor in the Maths Department of Durham University. My research is in aspects of theoretical physics and string theory, and I have worked with genetic algorithms extensively in that context. In fact, this is where I developed my love of artificial intelligence, and in particular the Genetic Algorithm approach to problem solving. As well as academic research, I have supervised GA projects that developed route-planners, optimised aerofoils, solved Rubik’s cubes and visualised changes in gene expression during ageing.
In Durham we also host a machine learning Student Training Centre (with 12 or so post-graduate students) focussed on LHC event detection, and we are in the process of acquiring a cluster of deep learning machines.

Despite a major part of my work being in theoretical physics, a significant number of my project students have ended up in the city, for example in BZW, Citibank and Commerzbank — as such I have always kept half an eye on the possibility for machine learning techniques in the area of finance, and in fact I was considering getting my project students to attempt something similar to AICoin before I came across AICoin!!